Jabberwock Review


Jabberwock Review is pleased to announce the publication of our  Winter 2017 issue (37.2).

Jabberwock Review

Congratulations to the following contributors:

Alexander Weinstein (Summer 2013). His collection Children of the New World is a 2016 New York Times Notable Book.
Rochelle Hurt (Summer 2012). Her second book of poems, In Which I Play the Runaway, has just been published by Barrow Street Press as the winner of the 2015 Barrow Street Book Prize.
Karen Kao (Winter 2015). Her first novel, The Dancing Girl and the Turtle, will be published by Linen Press in March 2017.
Amina Gautier (Summer 2011). Her third story collection, The Loss of All Lost Things, won the Elixir Press Award.
Jacqueline Doyle, whose essay "Who's Your Stepdaddy?" (Winter 2014) was a "Notable Essay" in  Best American Essays 2015.
Toni Graham
, one of the two winners of the 2015 Flannery O’Connor Prize for Short Fiction. The title story of her collection, The Suicide Club, appeared in the Winter 2012 issue of Jabberwock Review.


We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Nancy D. Hargrove Editors' Prize for Fiction and Poetry.


Winner: Faith Merino, "Birdsong in the Chimney"
Finalists: Jane Holwerda, “Faith Healer”; Charles Leipart, “What Wolfman Knew”; Anthony Otten, “The Bloodhound”


Winner: Kristin Ryan, “Morning, with Bandages”
Finalists: Alan Elyshevitz, “The Monroe Doctrine”; Daniel Lassell, “The Hunted & the Haunted”

Congratulations to our winners and finalists!

Congratulations to our 2016 Pushcart Prize nominees!

Amy Burroughs, for her essay, “Two Strangers on a Train” (Summer 2016)
Bruce Cohen, for his poem, “Chumps, Suckas & Patsies” (Summer 2016)
Kristen Gentry, for her story, “A New World” (Summer 2016)
Jennifer Stewart Miller, for her poem, “Thief” (Winter 2016)
Amy Foster Myer, for her story, “’Before and After’ for 200, Alex” (Winter 2016)
John Sibley Williams, for his poem, “Dewpoint” (Summer 2016)

English Department, Mississippi State University

Jabberwock Review is a literary journal published semi-annually by students and faculty of Mississippi State University. The journal consists of art, poetry, fiction, and non-fiction from around the world. Funding is provided by the Office of the Provost, the College of Arts & Sciences, the Shackouls Honors College, the Department of English, fundraisers, and subscriptions.

For further information about Jabberwock Review, contact

Becky Hagenston, Editor (email)
Ciera Higginbotham, Associate Editor